

Iowa State Police Association

Box 1615 • Des Moines, Iowa 50305-1615

515-299-5320 • Fax 515-299-5321 • ISPAonline@gmail.com • www.ISPAonline.com

Executive Board Officers

TIM PILLACK

President Captain-Retired Waterloo

DAVE MCFARLAND

1st Vice President Detective Waterloo

MATT HARKIN

2nd Vice President Senior Police Officer Des Moines

STEVE HANSON

3rd Vice President Sergeant Fort Dodge

RICK HOST

Secretary-Treasurer Lieutenant-Retired Des Moines

JOSH BELL

Director Police Officer Cedar Rapids

BECKI SAMMONS

Director Police Officer Iowa City

JUDY KELLEN

Director Sergeant Sioux City

TODD THOEMING

Immediate Past President Corporal Davenport



86th Annual ISPA Conference Dubuque – 2018

87th Annual ISPA Conference Waterloo - 2019

Iowa State Legislators:

As the President of the Iowa State Police Association, I commend the collaborative work of the Iowa Harm Reduction Coalition and fully support their mission to expand awareness and implementation of Syringe Services Programs (SSPs) for injection drug users.

As a law enforcement officer, it is clear to me that we need to vigorously promote a gateway for treatment to injection drug use. Addiction is a public health issue, not a crime. SSPs create a point of contact with people with substance use disorders so they can access detoxification and treatment programs with help from community health outreach workers.

SSPs save money and lives, protect law enforcement, and increase public safety. Now is the time to lift legal barriers to SSPs, get more in operation and bring them out into the open through political support. I applaud the dedicated work of the Iowa Harm Reduction Coalition, and encourage our state legislators to vote in favor of authorizing syringe access programs, Senate File 2294, when it comes before the state legislature in this year.

Sincerely,

Tim Pillack President Iowa State Police Association

